From 1968 to 1989, I was a “madman” in the crazy, fast-paced world of high-tech advertising in San Francisco and Silicon Valley.  I was a copywriter, a Creative Director and an ad agency co-owner.  There were,  as I recall, plenty of client battle, inter-office politics and frequent creative skirmishes.

My biggest regrets are I didn’t see as much hanky-panky action or enjoy all the exciting side perks Don Draper frequently receives on the popular TV show, The MadMen, on AMC.  My life as a “madman” involved a lot more hard work.  And far less booze, cigarettes and exotic chick entanglements.

Don Draper and chick pix 274x280

Over the next few weeks, I will be recalling a successful ad campaign I created for a small software development company in Silicon Valley in the mid-1980’s.  It was a lot of fun to work on.  And the company enjoyed enormous success and widespread recognition from it.  I think of it as “The Day Dracula Came Roaring Into Silicon Valley.”

Stick around.  And pull your collar up to protect that tender neck!

 

